Happily Divorced Pilot Episode Review

Happily Divorced is the new sitcom on TV Land starring and created by Fran Drescher (The Nanny).

Fran Drescher plays Fran, a woman who after 18 years of marriage, discovers that her husband, Peter (John Michael Higgins) is gay. They decide to get a divorce, but must stay living together until he can afford to move out on his own.

After only watching one episode, my first impression of this show is not that good.

The humor in this show just doesn’t work very well. A lot of the jokes just fall flat. I really wasn’t laughing all that much. I think the issue is that the writers were just trying too hard. The jokes all feel so forced. I think the comedy would have been better if they just focused more on telling the story and developing the characters, and just let the humor come out more naturally.

The jokes also seemed really repetitive. It’s like the writers had two funny ideas for jokes and just repeated them over and over. One was just poking fun at the fact that Peter is gay. And the other is the fact that to everyone other than Fran, it seemed so obvious that he was gay and how they are all so baffled that she didn’t have a clue.

And another thing I would like to mention, I think Fran Drescher’s voice may have gotten even more irritating.

I really didn’t enjoy this episode too much. I got a couple of laughs, but I’m not sure if I’ll be tuning in to watch Happily Divorced again tonight.

I give the pilot a 4/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: TV Review

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

