Super 8 Movie Review

I spent this past Father’s Day seeing the new film Super 8 with my dad. Super 8, directed by JJ Abrams (Star Trek, Lost) and produced by Steven Spielberg is the story of a group of middle school kids who while filming a zombie movie one night for a film festival contest, witness a horrific train accident (the best action scene I’ve seen in any film in a while). What follows is the search to solve the mystery of what happened and why.

I can’t really get into anything more of the plot without spoiling the movie, but I’ll just say that I really loved Super 8.

The cast of child actors do very well in their respective roles. Joel Courtney is spot on as the protagonist, a normal kid named Joe Lamb. Riley Griffiths was perfect as Charles, the very adult-like and dedicated director of their film. Perhaps the most impressive though was Elle Fanning who played the lead actress in their zombie movie (If I was her older sister, I’d be pretty jealous). Kyle Chandler (Friday Night Lights) plays Joe’s father the town’s deputy of police and he also does a good job in his role.

Writer/director JJ Abrams did an excellent job portraying the various emotions of the characters and making the viewer feel them as well. It was suspenseful and exciting when it needed to be. I was really surprised to find myself laughing consistently. There was even one scene in particular, that, I kid you not, almost made me cry.

I can think of a couple of small criticisms. There were a few moments where events happened that I couldn’t really buy into. In addition to that, I felt that the film was somewhat clichéd at times. But that’s all I can negative about it.

Super 8 is entertaining nonstop. I was sitting in the theater for about two hours, but it didn’t feel like it. I never got bored even once. It’s definitely a film that needs to be seen in theaters. I had a great time watching it. It’s undeniably my favorite movie of 2011 so far.

For my final rating, I’m going with a 9/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

