X-Men: First Class Movie Review

X-Men: First Class is a prequel to the popular X-Men film series. The film tells the story of young Charles Xavier (James McAvoy) and young Erick Lehnsherr/Magneto (Michael Fassbender) and the friendship that grows between until they eventually become enemies in the future.

I’ll admit I’m not really that familiar with the whole X-Men franchise. I saw the first two films like about four years ago. I don’t remember too much about them. I’ve never actually seen X-Men 3. I never saw X-Men Origins: Wolverine. And I haven’t read any of the comic books. So I may not be the best person to review this movie. But I’ll try my best.

The movie had a good cast in general. James McAvoy stood out as Charles. Michael Fassbender was also really good as Erick. Jennifer Lawrence portrayed young Raven/Mystique. She did a good job. Kevin Bacon was good as the villain as well.

The story was pretty interesting. There was good dialogue in the film. There were moments that had me laughing. The movie also had some good special effects and some well-done action scenes. It kept me entertained for the majority of the time.

One of my favorite parts of the film was the ending. The last like 15 minutes were the best. The way everything wrapped up and came together was really good.

But the absolute best moment in the film was a hilarious cameo about half-way in. I won’t say who it was. But when you see it you’ll know what I’m talking about. It was so funny that I kept thinking about it for a few minutes afterwards and laughing to myself.

It’s strange because I can’t really say that there’s really much about the movie that I disliked. But I still wouldn’t say that I thought that it was great. It was like the whole time I enjoyed it, but there weren’t that many times where I was really into it. I would say that it’s worth seeing though. It’s works well as a summer blockbuster. So I’d say check it out.

I’m going to give X-Men: First Class a 7/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “X-Men: First Class Movie Review”

  1. wordschat Says:

    Having seen X-Men: First Class a couple weeks ago I thought they did a very good set-up even for the non knowledgeable X-Men viewer. Some good tongue in cheek humour as well. I just watch again X-Men: Last Stand which was to be the lst of the X-Men movies with the Patrick Stewart, Sir Ian McKellen etc cast. This would be a good view to see before the prequel as it brings the stories full circle. Seeing it again afterward makes some parts in First Class have more impact.


Leave a Reply

