Green Lantern Movie Review

Green Lantern is the tale of Hal Jordan (Ryan Reynolds), a man who is struggling with conflicts in his professional life as a fighter pilot, and his personal life with his family and ex-girlfriend (Blake Lively). He’s a laid-back and irresponsible guy who quits everything that he tries. One day, his life changes when he is chosen to become his planet’s hero.

I was unsure of what to expect going into this movie. I was really conflicted. The first trailer we got was terrible. The following two trailers were awesome.  So I got really excited. But then the reviews started to come out and they were rather negative.

But I thought I would check it out anyway and see what happens. I’ll say that I enjoyed. I know some people will disagree. And that’s fine. To each his own.

The CGI in this movie just amazed me. There’s a lot of it. The scenes that take place on the planet of Oa, is all CGI. It’s so visually arresting. The only thing is that it doesn’t look very real, kind of cartoonish. But maybe that’s the point.

Ryan Reynolds does a pretty good job as Hal Jordan. There were times when he was a little unconvincing. But for the most part, he was fine.

Peter Sarsgaard had the part of the antagonist Hector Hammond. He did a good job at playing a creepy bad guy.

I actually thought Blake Lively was pretty good too. I didn’t think that I would, but to my surprise she gave a nice performance.

The movie was entertaining.  I really enjoyed. I don’t think that it will go down as one of my absolute favorite movies of the summer. It still wasn’t quite what I had hoped for. But I don’t think that it’s a bad movie either.

I give Green Lantern a 7/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Green Lantern Movie Review”

  1. wordschat Says:

    Wow coincidence I think we both saw it at matinee today but ovf ocurse in different cities. Don’t know where you’re blogging from. Anyway I saw it in 3D with two other friends. They liked it better than me. You state the CGI looked cartoonish and agree that is likely on purpose. However lifting the the 3D glasses of a few tiems to compare I don’t think the effect really added much. Storywise I found it had a tad too much set-up and mumbo jumbo yak yak. I liked Ryan Reynolds. His delivery showed an everyman out of his elemet trying to figure it all out. He is likeable and had fun with it. Sarsgaarrd was delightful as was Tim Robbins in a supporting role. Blake Lively as the female interest didn’t have much to do so didn’t make much of any impression with me. As an action flick it was busy and even exciting a few times so I give it 3/5 stars or a 6/10 rating.


Leave a Reply

