Larry Crowne Movie Review

In Larry Crowne Tom Hanks plays Larry Crowne, a middle-aged man who one day suddenly gets fired from his job working in retail supposedly because he never got a college education. He realizes that he’s going to lose everything that he has unless he goes back to school. So that he does.

At college he starts to develop a relationship with one of his professors (Julia Roberts). He also meets some new friends there and forms a good bond with them.

I liked this movie. Hanks and Roberts both played their parts well. The film also has a good supporting cast including Bryan Cranston, Cedric the Entertainer, George Takei, Wilmer Valderrama, and Gugu Mbatha-Raw. (I had to look up that last one).

I suppose you would classify this movie as a drama-comedy. The comedy half of that worked very well in my opinion. I got a lot of good laughs out of this movie.

The film is very nice and simple. It’s a sweet story and it’s entertaining to watch. I was never bored during it. But I still have some problems with it though.

One of the biggest problems I had with the movie was the ending. It was very sappy. The film tried to force you to feel emotional with background music but it didn’t work at all. And it didn’t help how predictable it all was.

I think the film also could have used a more clear goal. There were too many stories going  on and it couldn’t really develop them all well enough.

But at the end of the day, despite some flaws, I still enjoyed Larry Crowne. You don’t need to see it but I think it would make for a good time at the movies.

For my rating, I think I’ll go with a 7/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

