Hobo with a Shotgun Movie Review (DVD)

Hobo with a Shotgun premiered at the 2011 Sundance Film Festival and opened in limited release on May 6th of this past year. The film is new to DVD this week and I was fortunate enough to have the chance to sit down and watch it.

The movie stars Rutger Hauer as a nameless homeless man who one day moves to a new city. The city happens to be one of the most crime-ridden cities that I’ve ever seen in a movie. There’s murder, assault, drug use, etc. After watching it all go down for a few days our main character decides to take it upon himself to become the city’s vigilante and fight against those who are harming the innocent.

This movie is just great. Watching our hero going after the bad guys is just so much fun to watch. He kills tons of people with his shotgun. He blows up their heads and all kinds of cool stuff. It’s so awesome and it’s so entertaining.

But be warned, that this movie is not for the squeamish. The violence here is gruesome, and it’s non-stop. It may possibly be the most violent movie I’ve ever seen.

Rutger Hauer is perfect in the lead role. He really looks and feels like he is this character. I bought it every second. I think that this is the character that I will forever identify him as.

And despite the fact that this is a ridiculous exploitation movie, I actually was really involved in the story and really cared about the characters.

As I said the movie can be ridiculous at times and you have to do a little suspending of disbelief. But that’s all I can really say bad about it.

This is a movie that no one saw and a lot of more people definitely need to see. It’s one of my favorite movies that I’ve seen this year so far.

I’ll easily give it an 8/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: DVD Review

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Hobo with a Shotgun Movie Review (DVD)”

  1. wordschat Says:

    I saw this months ago at it limited release. It was shot in Halfax, Nova Scotia Canada. I thought it was a guilty pleasure. Use the search (Luke) to find the review off my wordschat blog here at wordpress. I’m sure I wrote a review.


Leave a Reply

