Captain America: The First Avenger Movie Review

In the new superhero film Captain America, Steve Rodgers (Chris Evans) is a young man living in the 1940’s who desperately wants to join the U.S. Army to fight in WWII.  After being rejected because he is too skinny and too weak, he chosen to be a part of the Super Soldier Program, where he is transformed into Captain America.

I think I might say that Captain America is my favorite superhero film that I’ve seen this summer (though I haven’t seen Thor). I’m not saying it’s substantially better than Green Lantern or X-Men: First Class, but I’m pretty sure that I liked it a little bit more than both of those.

Chris Evans was the perfect choice to play Steve Rodgers/Captain America. When I first heard that he was cast in the role I didn’t think that he would be a good fit, but I have to say that he pulled it off very well.

I thought that the action sequences were very well done. They were exciting, well-shot, well-edited, and kept me entertained. The visual effects were also great in the movie.

I really liked the character of Steve Rodgers in the movie. I thought that he was pretty well-developed and I found it easy to root for him and sympathize with him.

I have to talk about Tommy Lee Jones in the movie. Jones played an army colonel who rejected Steve and never wanted him there even after was eventually allowed to join. The character he plays is very similar to his Academy Award-winning role in The Fugitive. He plays this tough leader guy who is very sarcastic and very funny to watch. He actually had a bigger part than I assumed he would. He was in like the whole movie.

I had a few problems with the story. They’re just small ones though and unfortunately I can’t really get into any of them without spoiling the movie.

Lastly, I wanted to say that the end of the film was really good. It left the movie on a good note and was a perfect set up for The Avengers next year.

Oh, and the love Captain America’s costume. It looks so cool!

I’m giving Captain America: The First Avenger a strong 7/10.

By: John D’Amico 

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

