Just Go with It Movie Review (DVD)

Just Go with It is the latest Adam Sandler comedy. It hit theaters back in February and thankfully, I waited for DVD until I decided to see it.

Adam Sandler stars as Danny Maccabee, a single guy who uses a fake wedding ring to help get women? But one day he has a change of heart when he meets a beautiful woman named Palmer (Brooklyn Decker).

He wants to have a real relationship with her. But when she finds his fake wedding ring, he decides to cover for it with an extremely convoluted and near-impossible long-term lie. He tells her that he is married and has his friend Katherine (Jennifer Anniston) pose as his wife.

This movie is just awful. I really didn’t like it all. The plot is just not one bit believable. Why would Adam Sandler go through so much work to lie to a woman he supposedly cared about? Why did Jennifer Anniston go along with it for so long? Why did Brooklyn Decker believe every word he said? It makes no sense.

I’ll say some good things about.  Adam Sandler and Jennifer Anniston did okay in the movie. And I liked Bailee Madison who played Anniston’s daughter. She was pretty funny. I think that she could go somewhere after this.

I got a few laughs out of the, even a little more than I expected. But it wasn’t enough to save this movie. It just wasn’t funny for the most part. Most of the jokes are lame and they don’t work. It’s an Adam Sandler movie so you’re going to get a lot of gross-out humor and just plain stupid jokes. I’m sorry but that’s not funny to me.

Nicole Kidman pops up for part of the movie in a totally unnecessary side-plot that could have been totally cut out and it also would have made the movie shorter (it’s almost two hours).  But Nicole Kidman is really annoying.

So I don’t recommend at all. I kind of hated it. But at least it wasn’t as bad as Grown Ups.

I’ll give it a 3/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: DVD Review

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Just Go with It Movie Review (DVD)”

  1. wordschat Says:

    I reviewed it last Feb 2011 on my blog check it out. I gave it 3/5 stars so 6/10. I was crude, quite funny and I liked the chemistry between Aniston and Sandler. Yes some of these can be dreadful but this one worked for me and my guest.


  2. I agree with you about Nicole Kidman – the movie could have survived without her and that coconut thing (shrugs..). I really liked the movie though; made me laugh aloud. So what does that mean – lame jokes work for me ;)…


Leave a Reply

