Source Code Movie Review (DVD)

This is another movie that I never got the chance to catch in theaters. But it came out on DVD this past Tuesday, so yesterday I went out and bought it.

Source Code has a rather complex plot to describe but basically a solider named Colter Stevens (Jake Gyllenhaal) is placed in a program called the source code where he can into someone else’s body during the last eight minutes of their life. His job is to go into the body of a man named Sean who was on a train that was bombed and find out who the bomber was.

For me, Source Code is a very smart, interesting, and entertaining movie. The plot is pretty complex. Some people have compared it to Inception, and I would say that’s a fair comparison. Both are science-fiction thrillers, both can be confusing at times, and both are great movies.

Jake Gyllenhaal does really good work here. It seems like he’s good in just about every movie he’s in. And I’d say that this is his best performance since Donnie Darko. Michelle Monaghan is also in the movie. She plays the romantic love interest. And the two have great chemistry together.

I felt very emotionally involved with this movie. You really care about the characters. They almost feel like real people. There was even one scene later in the movie where I honestly got a little bit teary-eyed.

But I think the movie was hurt by its ending. It was like they just totally ruined the plot’s consistency and just went for the safe route.

But that was my only real problem other than maybe a couple small plot holes. I think that it’s something I’ll watch it again.

I’ll give the movie an 8/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: DVD Review

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

