The Trip Movie Review

So here we have another independent film that I wanted to see but took awhile to open in a theater near me (and by “near” I mean a 45 minute drive). 

The Trip is a British comedy from director Michael Winterbottom starring Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon. In the film the two essentially play themselves as two friends who go on a road trip together touring restaurants over the course of one week. There’s not much of a story here it’s mostly just these two traveling together and having conversations with one another.

I think this is a movie that really needs some more exposure. I really liked it. First off, Coogan and Brydon both are excellent in their roles. They provide for a lot of the laughs in the movie and they have great chemistry. If I had to say, I’d say I liked Coogan more though.

The film is very funny. I’d call it one of the funniest movies I’ve seen this year so far. The two characters throughout the movie pass the time by doing impressions of various celebrities such as Michael Caine, Al Pacino, Dustin Hoffman, and my personal favorite Woody Allen. They do it a few times throughout and it’s hysterical.

I wouldn’t say that the movie provides for constant laughs though. There are some slow spots where I got a little bored. I think this problem may have come from the fact that the film was improvised. In my opinion scripting a film is usually the better option.

But I’m still glad that I went a little out of my way to see it. I think it was worth the trip (no pun intended).

So if it’s playing anywhere near you, I say go check it out. 

I would like to give it an 8/10

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Trip Movie Review”


  1. […] I had the good fortune of seeing the original in theaters. You can see my review of it here: https://johnjamesdamico.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/the-trip-movie-review/ […]


  2. […] If you enjoy simple, witty, comedies, then this is the film for you. See my full review here: https://johnjamesdamico.wordpress.com/2011/07/29/the-trip-movie-review/ […]


Leave a Reply

