Rise of the Planet of the Apes Movie Review

This movie is the prequel to the 1968 classic, Planet of the Apes, starring Charlton Heston, which I’ll admit I haven’t yet seen.

I don’t really want to talk about this movie too much. Let me just say that  I think you should see it if you haven’t already. I think it’s  one of the better blockbusters we’ve had this summer. I do think though that it might already be a little overrated. I wouldn’t call it a great movie or an excellent movie.

John Lithgow is in the movie and he gave a great performance. James Franco did a good job too. We also got a good performance from Andy Serkis as the main ape Caesar. The story is really involving and you really care a lot about what’s going on. And I loved the action-filled climax during the last twenty minutes or so.

One main problem I had with the movie was the character played by Frieda Pinto. She played the girlfriend of James Franco’s character. Pinto was fine in the movie but her character served no purpose to the movie at all. And I might get some hate for this but I didn’t that the CGI used for the apes looked very real.

For me personally, the movie is a strong 7/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Rise of the Planet of the Apes Movie Review”

  1. wordschat Says:

    I did comment but it didn’t show up. The action was almost cartoonish and just too busy. I sugest seeing the original 1968 feature that started it all. It was based on a French novel and several screenplays including a major rewrite by Rod Sirling was done. This Rise version is not a prequel at all but a new variation to start maybe a new series of movies. The 2001 Mark Wahlberg Planet of the Apes is closer to the original novel than the 1968 movie.


Leave a Reply

