Andy Serkis…Oscar?

I’ve been experimenting with a lot of different things on this blog, so I wanted to try something new and that is movie-related editorials. I’ll start off with something in the movie world that’s been on my mind lately.

I’ve been hearing a lot of people make the claim that Andy Serkis deserves to be nominated for an Academy Award for his motion-capture performance as the ape Caesar in the recent film  Rise of the Planet of the Apes. Those same people are also claiming that it is likely that the academy will most likely not nominate him. And I definitely agree with that last part.

But I must say that I will have disagree with those who are saying that he deserves a nomination for his role. It’s not that he didn’t do a good job in the movie, because he did. But I still don’t think he should be nominated for anything.

I think it’s fair to say that acting is made up of two equal parts. 50% of it is speaking, and 50% of it is in the facial expressions.

If you’ve seen the film you know that Andy Serkis has barely any lines throughout the whole movie. He does do a lot with his facial expressions. But how can we know for sure whether or not any of that was enhanced by the CGI. So I don’t see how it’s fair him to be nominated along with people who had to do a lot more work than he did.

I do think though that he deserved a nomination for his work in The Lord of the Rings films though. In those movies he had a lot of speaking parts, so that’s different.

I mean if they created a special category for best motion-capture performance, that would be one thing. But I really don’t think that he should be nominated for Best Actor or Best Supporting Actor.

But that’s just my opinion on the subject. I’d like to hear what others have to say. Feel free to comment and let me know what you think.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Editorial

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Andy Serkis…Oscar?”

  1. Fergal Casey Says:

    Hi John,
    Interesting post!

    That’s a good point about acting being about delivery as well as facial reaction.

    I praised Serkis’ performance in my review and would probably have put myself into the category of people thinking he should get recognition for his motion-capture acting, but I probably fell into the trap you describe of assuming that his performance itself hasn’t been enhanced by CGI.

    Here’s my review if you wanted to check it out, http://fergalcasey.wordpress.com/2011/08/09/rise-of-the-planet-of-the-apes/

    Fergal.


Leave a Reply

