American Horror Story Pilot Review

“American Horror Story” aired its series premiere this past Thursday on FX at 10 pm. I didn’t watch it then. But I did just watch it a few minutes ago on Hulu.com. So here’s my thoughts.

The TV spots for this series got me very interested. They pretty gave you zero information about the show, but I think that was intentional. They wanted people to go in knowing nothing so they would surprised. Unfortunately though I’m going to have to give minimal information about the plot to write this review.

The show stars Connie Britton and Dylan McDermott as a married couple who move from Boston to Los Angeles into a new home. All I’m going to say about it is that the house has a very dark history to it.

This first episode was great. This is probably the only really good new show I’ve seen this fall season. The show is the horror-thriller genre and it’s very scary. There are a lot of really frightening and shocking images that really get under. I’m not generally a big fan of horror but when it’s done well I can appreciate. And this show is done quite well.

The acting in the show is really solid. Connie Britton and Dylan McDermott both do very well, especially Britton.

The two also have a daughter played by a young new actress named Taissa Farmiga. She does a good job as well. We also get a good performance from another young actor named Evan Peters who portrays a troubled patient of McDermott’s character (I forgot to mention he’s a psychiatrist).

So if you haven’t watched this episode already I recommend you go watch it on Hulu. And don’t forget to tune in to watch this Wednesday at 10 pm. I know I will for sure.

I give this premiere an 8.5/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: TV Review

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “American Horror Story Pilot Review”


  1. We have the same opinions on almost every film! thanks for checking out my page, do you have a twitter?

  2. wordschat Says:

    Sounds like a TV version of the current movie Dream House. I’m not a big fan of demonic house possession type movies so will pass but thanks for the heads up šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

