Red State Movie Review (DVD)

Kevin Smith’s new film “Red State” came out on DVD this past Tuesday, and I just watched it. It never had a theatrical release here in America and I tried watching it on demand but that didn’t work out. So I had to wait for DVD.

I don’t really want to talk about the plot of this movie at all. I don’t want to give anything away. I’ll just say it’s about three teenage guys, an organization similar to the Westboro Baptist Church, and a lot of crazy stuff happens.

The movie has two stand-out performances from Michael Parks and John Goodman. Parks essentially plays the villain and he does a good job at being creepy and menacing. Goodman plays an authoritative officer of the law and he really nails the character.

I wasn’t really too fond of the first twenty or so minutes of the film. It focuses on these three teenage guys and it’s not very interesting. But after the focus shifts away from them, the movie becomes very captivating.

This film is much more plot-driven than it is character-driven. And as much as I do like the story, the character development here was a little bit lacking. We don’t learn much about the backstory of any of these characters. I think the film could have also benefited from a longer runtime so we could have more time to get to know the characters.

But the things that work about the film really do work very, very well. So I was able to somewhat forgive these problems.

I give the movie an 8/10. Check it out.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: DVD Review

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Red State Movie Review (DVD)”

  1. Craig Says:

    Nice, to the point review. I agree on much of what you said, but enjoyed it also. I’ll be checking your blog again!


  2. […] Red State Movie Review (DVD) (johnjamesdamico.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

