The Ides of March Movie Review

This is a late review I know. I wasn’t sure if I was going to see this movie. I mean, I wanted to, but I didn’t think I would get around to it. But here it is.

I have to talk about the acting first. All of the performances here are top notch. The stand-out is Ryan Gosling as Stephen Meyers. He does a great job displaying all of the emotions of his character. I’m not sure if it will happen, but I wouldn’t mind seeing him get a Best Actor nomination.

We also get some excellent supporting work from talented actors like Phillip Seymour Hoffman, Paul Giamatti, and Evan Rachel Wood. Marisa Tomei has a small role but she does a lot with it. George Clooney also did some fine work as a governor running for President of the United States.

The film got off to a slow start. But after a little while it really picks up. Tension starts to build and build as the film goes along and after a while I was at the edge of my seat waiting to see what would happen next.

Nothing in the film is really predictable. I could never see what was going to happen next. There are a lot of twists and turns that had my jaw dropping. It gets very intense.

Other than the somewhat slow start, I can’t really complain about much. The only other thing that I might say is that I wish they had developed George Clooney’s character a little bit more. I never really felt all that invested in his part of the story.

The Ides of March is worth seeing in theaters, so hurry up and see it before it leaves theaters if you haven’t already. I’m glad I decided to go out and see it.

My rating is an 8.5/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “The Ides of March Movie Review”


  1. […] The Ides of March Movie Review (johnjamesdamico.wordpress.com) Share this:ShareShare This entry was posted in Activities, Entertainment and tagged Champlain Valley Film Society, film, George Clooney, Movies, Paul Giamatti, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Politics, Ryan Gosling, The Ides of March, Willsboro Central School by katshe77. Bookmark the permalink. /* […]

  2. wordschat Says:

    Well written review and I agree 100%. Sorry not answered sooner. I just moved within my city.


Leave a Reply

