The Skin I Live In Movie Review

The Skin I Live In is a Spanish film from acclaimed director Pedro Almodovar. It stars Antonio Banderas as a plastic surgeon who is trying to create a synthetic skin that can better protect the human body from outside obstructions. It also stars Elena Anaya as the woman who takes on the role as his guinea pig.

I don’t want to get into the plot because I think the less you know about it going into this movie, the better. But I will say that The Skin I Live In is one of the most enthralling films that I have seen recently.

First off, the movie has a great look to it. We get a lot of great scenery and images and it’s all photographed very well by Jose Luis Alcaine.

Banderas is great in his role and so is his co-star Anaya. They really help carry this movie.

And I have to mention the score by Alberto Igelsias. It fits the tone perfectly. I’ll say it’s one of the best scores I have heard in a film all year.

The film has really stayed with me. I have been thinking about it a lot since I’ve seen it yesterday. It’s really the kind of movie that you need to think about a lot to understand everything that went on throughout. And I can’t really say that I fully understand it all.

The ending here was excellent. For me personally, an ending like this can really make or break a movie and this one made the whole experience worth it.

This movie isn’t for everyone but I think if you don’t mind a film that is very challenging , different, and at times hard to watch, then I can’t recommend it enough.

I’ve been thinking about it a lot and I’m going to have to give this movie a 9/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “The Skin I Live In Movie Review”

  1. lopezrene Says:

    I really loved The Skin I Live In. I’ve heard others praise the score as well, but it just didn’t register with me. Maybe it will on a second viewing.

    And yes, the less written about the plot the greater the favor you’re doing people as a reviewer with this film.


  2. I really liked this movie as well. It was mixed with critics. But I agree with you. Awesome score too.

  3. wordschat Says:

    Excellent review John. It is difficult to review some suspense or mysteries for fear of giving it away. You captured the technical and audience participation parts well. I sat through all the credits to save the last notes of the score.


Leave a Reply

