Hugo Movie Review

Hugo is the new family adventure film from Academy Award-winning director Martin Scorsese. It tells the story a young orphan boy Hugo (Asa Butterfield), living in Paris in the 1930s.  The story is a mystery involving his dead father that his friend Isabelle helps him solve.

One component I need to talk about here in the 3D. This is probably the best 3D I’ve ever seen in a film. It’s used consistently throughout the whole movie and it really adds some excellent visuals. There are moments where images pop out to the extent that for a second I actually thought they were real.

So I recommend that you pay the extra money for it if you do see this movie. And  this is coming from someone who hates 3D by the way.

Now as far as the film itself I had a very good time with it. The whole cast delivers  convincing performances in each of their roles. Asa Butterfield plays the title character well. You really feel for his struggle that he is dealing with (that is getting  over the death of his father).  And I think it’s safe to say that Chloe Grace Moretz is the most talented child actor working today.

Ben Kingsley is also very commendable as a toy shop who sort of helps Hugo through his journey. And Sacha Baron Cohen is likable and  funny as the station inspector with his own interesting story.

One thing I’ve been hearing people saying that I totally agree with is that is really something that film lovers. They are scenes in the later end of the film that furthered my realization of why I love movies so much.

I might be praising this a little too much. I did like it a lot but it’s not one of my favorites of the year or anything like that. But I’m still glad that I saw it and  I think everyone should go out and see it.

For me, Hugo gets a rating of 8/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Hugo Movie Review”


  1. […] Hugo Movie Review (johnjamesdamico.wordpress.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Tagged Academy Award, Asa Butterfield, Film, Hugo, Martin Scorsese, Movies, Oscar, Sacha Baron Cohen […]

  2. CMrok93 Says:

    The movie itself runs a bit long at 127 minutes, but Hugo is worth every minute for the visual feast it provides, and features Scorsese in probably his most delightful and elegant mood ever, especially with all of the beautiful 3-D. Good review.


Leave a Reply

