Margin Call Movie Review (DVD)

“Margin Call” is one these films that got released to watch on Video on Demand and on Itunes alongside its theatrical release. At the time I was planning on buying renting it from Itunes and writing a review of it. But the Itunes rental I got didn’t work. So I gave up on it. I did have an opportunity to see it in theaters, but I had lost my interest.

When it came out on DVD I wasn’t going to bother watching it, but something changed. I got interested in it again when my favorite movie critic Peter Travers from Rolling Stone magazine put it on his Top 10 of the Year list.

“Margin Call” is based on the true of the fall of the U.S. economy which took place in 2008. The film has an very including Kevin Spacey, Zachary Quinto, Jeremy Irons, Demi Moore, Paul Bettany, Simon Baker, and most notably Stanley Tucci. Each of them gives a good acting performance.

The film has a lot of discussion about the the economy and I would be lying if I said that I understood everything that was spoken by the main characters. Some people might not like the movie for that reason and it did hurt my viewing experience, I’ll admit. But I was still find things to appreciate.

The film is well-made and and you get emotionally involved with the characters as they go through this crisis. They stakes get really high and it’s easy to get involved with these characters lives.

“Margin Call” is a movie that not a lot of people saw and one that I think more people need to see. It’s not the best movie out there but I think it’s worth your time.

I give this movie a 7.5/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: DVD Review

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Margin Call Movie Review (DVD)”

  1. wordschat Says:

    Hi John, wordschat here. Well written review John. I mentioned that Margin Call was overlooked in the shuffle with other movies out. As you say that is too bad because it does give quite a realistic look at the inner workings of a wall street firm and adds the currency (pun intended) of the downsizing of private industry. You care about the people involved because they are more than paper cut outs and well acted. This would be on my top 10 list if I had gotten around to wrting one 🙂


Leave a Reply

