The Artist Movie Review

“The Artist” stars French actors Jean Dujardin and Berenice Bejo as two film actors working during the late nineteen-twenties through the early nineteen-thirties.

Dujardin is charismatic, funny, and really makes you care for his character. Berenice Bejo was just lovely in her role. And the two have some of the best chemistry I’ve seen in a movie this year.

I was skeptical about watching a silent film. I had never seen one before, but for this movie, it didn’t matter to me. It’s so enjoyable that you don’t even notice. You just go along with it.

One thing that surprised me about “The Artist” is how funny it was. The film is primarily a drama but there is plenty of good laughs to be had here. I know understand why the Golden Globes nominated it in the Musical/Comedy category.

I have to give a lot of credit to director Michael Hazanavicius for nailing the feel of a old-time film. It really felt like I was a movie from the ninety-twenties.

A lot of credit for this film’s success also has to go to composer Ludovic Bource. This guy had a huge responsibility as the person behind most of the audio in this movie and he crafted a score the fit the tone perfectly. It’s sad when it needs to be, it’s joyful when it needs to be, and it’s even intense when it needs to be.

I’m going to go out on a limb and say that “The Artist” is *the* good movie year. I found myself smiling throughout the picture and when it was over I was in a great mood. The audience I was with seemed to enjoy it as well. We all clapped when the end credits came on.

This movie has been a big Oscar contender and now I can see why. I would definitely prefer if it took home Best Picture over films like “The Descendants” or “Hugo.” I’m not saying it’s necessarily my favorite movie of the year, but it is up there on the list.

I really loved “The Artist” and I recommend it to anyone who wants to have a good time at the movies.

For my final rating, I’ll go with a 9/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “The Artist Movie Review”

  1. wordschat Says:

    Darn I wrote a long reply but I lost it when logging in. Anyway I agree with you John. This is very well acted and made my Top 10 as you know. Dujardin especially conveys the human condition. He is not so afraid of talkies he is afraid and resistant to change in general. His spiral into depression is moving. One actor missing worthy of applause is that of the dog. Only one was listed in the credits. He was as integral to the story and played his part as well as the rest. I’d say he could win a best supporting actor paws down.

  2. aculturedlad Says:

    Great review!

    I couldn’t agree more. As an audience member, I had such a good time watching this movie and it was a great amount of fun. It definitely feels like the director certainly got what he wanted, and it resulted in a fantastic feel-good, innocent, sweet movie.


Leave a Reply

