Drive Movie Review

So this is a very late review. I missed the opportunity to see this movie back in September. I thought I was going to have to wait for DVD. But I got the chance to finally see this movie in a theater tonight.

“Drive’ is one of the most, if not the most buzzed about films of 2011. People have been raving about it and throwing around words like “masterpiece” to describe it. So I was looking forward to watching it. This is a very, very good film. Is it the best movie of 2011? I’m not sure. Is it a masterpiece. I wouldn’t quite say so.

In “Drive” Ryan Gosling stars as “The Driver.” He’s a stunt driver for movies by day, and a get-away driver by night. One day he meets a woman named Irene (Carey Mulligan) who has a son named Benicio. “The Driver” gets involved in a job alongside Irene’s ex-con husband named Standard.

The opening to “Drive” is in a word, perfect. They way the opening scene is filmed and cut is just extraordinary. I was amazed by this opening sequence. Yet, the rest of the movie, never quite reached the high-point of that scene again.

The movie has a number of individual scenes that are really well-done and just awesome to watch. The movie can get so intense and so violent at times and it’s just a real treat.

Ryan Gosling is intimidating as “The Driver.” And Albert Brooks is menacing as the film’s antagonist. Carey Mulligan, Oscar Issacs, Bryan Cranston, Ron Perlman, and Christina Hendricks also all do fine work.

I’m not sure if “Drive” was exactly what I wanted from it but there is still plenty to enjoy and plenty to admire about it.

I’m not totally certain about this but for my final rating I’m going to push a little and go with a 9/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Drive Movie Review”

  1. wordschat Says:

    Interesting review. I too missed Drive in the shuffle with other films and have yet to see it. You say it is quite a violent film. I don’t mind vlolence within the context like say a gangster film or war film must have violence but I don’t like gratuitous violence just for the sake of adding the shock value. Is isthe former or latter here?

  2. jeffro517 Says:

    I think this is just out of reach for most movie goers who need more dialogue and more action. The action in this film was amazingly well-done and when it happened it was fast and gruesome. I loved it. It’s not the best of 2011, but it’s up there.

  3. Paragraph Film Reviews Says:

    It was the build up of tension and violence that got me during Drive. Probably the best opening 10 minutes of 2011.

  4. Matt Stewart Says:

    Wow, sounds like an excellent film! along with man (and I mean MANY) films from this year I need to see Drive.

    Good review!


Leave a Reply

