My Top 10 Movies of 2011

Just a disclaimer: this is an incomplete list. There are a number of films that I have yet to see this year but I didn’t want to put this off any longer. So without further ado, here are my picks for the best movies of 2011.

Honorable Mentions: Hobo with a Shotgun, Moneyball, Red State, Take Shelter, The Trip, Win Win

10. The Ides of March – Good ensemble but Ryan Gosling gives the best performance I’ve seen from any actor this year.

9. Source Code – Great, smart, sci-fi movie.

8. Cedar Rapids – Very underrated movie.

7. Beginners – Emotional, unique, and very well-acted. I hope writer/director Mike Mill gets at least one Oscar nomination.

6. Drive – Bloody, grim, dark, and awesome. A lot of people put this as their favorite of the year but I couldn’t do that. And another great performance from Gosling.

5. The Muppets – I didn’t grow up with the Muppets but I really loved this film. I don’t have a review of it by the way.

4. The Skin I Live In – One the best twist ending I’ve ever seen in a movie.

3. Super 8 – I’m not a huge sci-fi fan, but this year had some great ones and this is no exception.

2. Midnight in Paris – Owen Wilson gives his best performance and Woody Allen writes and directs it excellently.

1. The Artist – Smart, witty, funny, dramatic, and highly enjoyable. I never expected this to be my favorite of the year but it is.

So that’s my list. I hope you enjoyed reading it.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Editorial, Lists

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “My Top 10 Movies of 2011”

  1. wordschat Says:

    A good list John. Muppets almost made my list. I saw the originals. Win Win I’d forgotten but worthy as well. Paul Giamatti showing up again in quality. Do look up Les Amours Imaginaires by Quebecois writer director Xavier Dolan an excellent look at dating and relationships.

  2. jeffro517 Says:

    Great list. I think we have vastly different opinions, but that’s what makes movies so great!


Leave a Reply

