A Separation Movie Review

“A Separation” is the Oscar-nominated Iranian film from writer-director Asghar Farhadi. It tells the story of a married couple going through a divorce. But they soon go through a tragedy that could end up ruining their lives.

I’m pretty sure that if I had the opportunity to see this movie earlier, it would have definitely made it into my top 10 of the year list.

“A Separation” is a film that really keeps your attention all of the way through. There were very few moments during where I got bored.

“A Separation” was nominated for two Academy Awards this past Tuesday in the categories of Best Foreign-Language and Best Original Screenplay. And in my opinion both nominations were well-deserved.

I wanted to address something. It’s not really about this film specifically, but more films in general. A lot of people are turned off by the idea of subtitled films. And at first I was nervous about it too. But when I gave it try I found that it really wasn’t so difficult. I’m not saying that it’s not a challenge at all, but it’s really not as bad as you might think.

I don’t really have too much to say about this one, so I’ll end with saying that it’s definitely a film that I recommend to anyone who wants to see an interesting, well-made piece of cinema.

I give “A Separation” an 8.5/10.

By: John D’Amico

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “A Separation Movie Review”


  1. […] A Separation Movie Review (johnjamesdamico.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

