The Case Against 8 Review

So I’m back to blogging again. I’m going to be doing it a little differently this time around. That’s all I have to say about that for now. Onto the review…

The_Case_Against_8

So I just got finished watching the new HBO documentary The Case Against 8, which tells the story of the U.S. Supreme Court case which led to the eventual overturning of Proposition 8, a law which had banned same-sex marriages in the state of California.

The film primarily follows the two gay couples who were fighting in favor of the repeal of Prop 8, along with their lawyers.

The aspect of this movie that impressed me the most was the way that it increased my understanding of how much this issue really matters to these people.

Don’t get the wrong idea; I’ve always been a supporter of gay marriage. And obviously I’ve always understood to a degree that the right to marriage is very important to homosexuals. But by watching this documentary, I actually got the opportunity to witness the real reactions of these real people throughout the whole experience.

Seeing everything that these couples went through whether it was good or bad was very emotional, and inspiring. When the movie was over, I starting thinking to myself, “I want to help gay marriage! I got to go find an online petition to sign or something!”

I think that it would be difficult for someone to watch this film with an open mind and then come out of it not at least reconsidering their position on gay marriage (assuming that person was not already for it).

So if you’re interested in the topic and you don’t mind sitting through a 2-hour documentary, I’d say check out The Case Against 8.

Explore posts in the same categories: Movie Review, TV Review

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

