The Knick: Pilot Review

the-knick-cinemax

So I just watched the series premiere of the new Cinemax drama The Knick.

The Knick tells the story of Dr. John Thackery, a surgeon living in the year 1900. Thackery is portrayed by Clive Owen, who turns in a very good performance, which could earn him an Emmy nomination come next summer.

Throughout the episode we discover a few interesting things about this character that I can only imagine will make for some very compelling stories down the road.

Something that should be known before watching this show, is that it features some very graphic and disturbing surgery sequences.

I won’t get into detail, but I will say that what I saw in the early scenes of the episode may have been the most graphic thing I have ever seen on television. So if you’re like me, and you’re not used to seeing that kind of stuff, I would just be cautious going in.

Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t let this discourage you from watching the series, but you just need to know what you’re getting into to. And if you’re squeamish, I would recommend covering your eyes a little during the surgery scenes (there’s really only two of them by the way; one at the start of the episode, and one at the end).

Explore posts in the same categories: TV Review

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “The Knick: Pilot Review”


  1. This Manhatten and the Strain have become my must watch new shows this summer.


Leave a comment